Raeford Hoke Museum

raeford hoke museum

Raeford Historic District features many resources dating back to its establishment, such as the Aberdeen & Rockfish Railroad Corridor and Kritt McNeill House and Will & Flora McLauchlin House – some of which date as far back as 1854!

The Parker-Ray House at 111 South Highland Street features an emergency service museum, doll house, schoolhouse, country store and genealogy room – as well as free admission! Admission to this non-profit museum is always available.

Founded in 2002

Raeford Hoke Museum was created to increase public knowledge of the history of its surrounding area. Comprised of two colonial homes, including McLauchlin-McFadyen House, tours can be taken upon request and admission is free for groups of 10 or more visitors.

Raeford is one of the most intact railroad towns in South Central North Carolina and its Historic District contains an array of architectural styles and forms from Queen Anne houses to an imposing Neoclassical edifice and three-story commercial buildings to its turn-of-the-century railroad depot. Furthermore, there are residential structures from early twentieth century construction which were often constructed by Marcus W. Dew, an accomplished local contractor and carpenter who constructed some of Raeford’s finest homes during that era.

Many buildings in the historic district are examples of nationally popular styles, vernacular forms and local construction practices. For example, the Johnson-Thomas Building features recessed panels divided by pilasters while Parker Ray House displays its signature Queen Anne features: its curving eaves and peaked metal window hoods recall its Queen Anne-influenced roots. Commercial properties within the historic district tend to be constructed of brick, although initially many storefronts and offices were wooden; after several fires destroyed these initial wooden storefronts; these have since been replaced with more substantial and functional post World War II brick structures made from more durable materials that better suit local needs.

See also  Raeford City Hall

Open to the public

Raeford Hoke Museum was established to preserve and display historical artifacts from its location. Since opening its doors in 2002, this non-profit organization is located on five acres with two houses: McLauchlin-McFadyen House was constructed in 1905 while Parker-Ray House has been restored back to its early 1900s glory – both are available as exhibition pieces at this museum featuring various historical artifacts and photographs.

Staff of the museum is committed to providing education about local history for its audiences. With more than 10,000 historic items like family photographs and genealogical records in its collections, its knowledgeable and friendly staff is eager to answer questions regarding local heritage.

Raeford offers more than just its museum as an attraction; it is famed for its fragrant pine forests and magnolia blooms; its pastoral beauty exemplifying deep-seated southern hospitality while offering welcome respite from modern life’s hectic pace. Bordering Fort Bragg, Raeford offers convenient proximity to Pinehurst, Carolina beaches, and Blue Ridge Mountains – making for a delightful stay!

This year’s Hometown Christmas will feature hay rides that will take people through downtown, which will be lit with twinkling lights. Additionally, the event will offer children performances as well as martial arts demonstrations from local martial arts schools. Attendees can take pictures with Santa and also meet Santa himself!

Admission is free

Raeford-Hoke Museum strives to promote public awareness and preserve the history, culture, and artifacts of Hoke County in North Carolina. Comprised of multiple buildings – McLauchlin-McFadyen House with its outstanding example of Neoclassical Revival architecture as well as Parker Ray House featuring early 20th Century furnishings – as well as hosting events throughout the year, tours can be scheduled by appointment for groups of 10 or more visitors by appointment only and admission is free (donations appreciated!). Admission is free; donations appreciated but admission is free (though donations are greatly appreciated).

See also  Raeford, NC - Home to the Hoke Museum

The museum was established in 2002 to raise public awareness of Hoke County, North Carolina’s heritage. It features an iconic 1921 fire truck as well as emergency and agricultural equipment; furthermore it contains an 1889 one-room schoolhouse; smokehouse; country store; as well as two colonial homes which are open for viewing by visitors.

Beginning as a casual conversation between Joyce Monroe, curator of the museum, and one of its visitors, who offered his barn as the ideal solution to their space needs, restoration will begin by April and grand opening is expected for May – likely drawing more visitors and thus strengthening the economy of town.

The McLauchlin-McFadyen House

The McLauchlin-McFadyen House is a 6,000 square foot historical exhibit facility featuring exhibits that celebrate Raeford and Hoke County’s rich heritage. Its goal is to raise public awareness of community history while simultaneously preserving cultural artifacts through documentation and display. The museum boasts two colonial homes: Parker Ray House and McLauchlin McFadyen House as examples of Neoclassical revival architecture, doll house, school house, country store as well as doll houses, school houses. All are available for rental!

Parker-Ray House and the McLauchlin-McFadyen houses are available for tours by groups of 10 or more. Call or email for arrangements – admission is free but donations are always welcomed!

Raeford’s early buildings exemplify the optimism of New South era, when farmers, merchants, and industrialists believed progress in industry and education could relieve them of antebellum dependence on volatile cash crops and slave labor. Many of Raeford’s commercial, governmental, and large-scale industrial buildings reflect this mindset.

Notable examples of commercial and governmental architecture within the community also include churches and schools constructed at this time, representing urbanization in terms of increasing urbanization as well as being connected to national trends in building design. Furthermore, these buildings represent early reliance on local builders such as Marcus W. Dew who constructed many of the town’s premier residences.

Back To Top